EXIM Announces Members of the 2020-2021 EXIM Advisory Committee and Newly-Established Chairman's Council on China Competition

Media Contact Name/Phone
Office of Communications (202) 565-3207

WASHINGTON - The Export-Import Bank of the United States (EXIM) announced today the appointment of 17 members to its Advisory Committee, and establishment of a new EXIM Advisory Committee Subcommittee on Strategic Competition with the People's Republic of China, informally called the "Chairman's Council on China Competition" (Chairman's Council). The terms for all appointed will run through September 2021.

The EXIM Advisory Committee, as required by the U.S. Congress, advises EXIM on its programs and, in particular, on the extent to which the agency provides competitive financing to support American jobs through exports.

The EXIM Board of Directors unanimously approved the 2020-2021 EXIM Advisory Committee Members during an open session of today's EXIM Board of Directors Meeting after the conclusion of an open nomination process, which was published in the Federal Register on July 7, 2020. The Advisory Committee will again be chaired by the Honorable Stevan Pearce, former member of the U.S. House of Representatives and New Mexico House of Representatives. Pearce also chaired the 2019-2020 EXIM Advisory Committee.

"It has been an honor to work alongside Chairman Reed and her team, as they've successfully reopened, reauthorized, and reformed the agency," said Chair Stevan Pearce. "The next year will be instrumental as they stand up the Program on China and Transformational Exports. I look forward to continuing as the Chair of the Advisory Committee and advising EXIM on its policies and programs to advance the agency's mission of supporting U.S. jobs through exports."

Chairman Reed also today announced that EXIM Advisory Committee Chairman Stevan Pearce established a newly formed EXIM Subcommittee on Strategic Competition with the People's Republic of China, or Chairman's Council. The Chairman's Council will advise the Advisory Committee on how China is engaging in strategic competition against the United States, and how Beijing's actions impact American interests and economic security.

In particular, the Chairman's Council will help EXIM make the most of its critical, bipartisan Congressional mandate to establish a "Program on China and Transformational Exports," designed to directly neutralize Chinese export subsidies, advance the comparative leadership of the United States with respect to China, and support U.S. innovation, employment, and technological standards in ten key technology sectors, ranging from 5G to artificial intelligence to biomedical sciences to renewable energy.

Ambassador Paula Dobriansky, who will serve on the EXIM Advisory Committee and as Chair of the Chairman's Council on China Competition, said, "I am excited to work with my committee and subcommittee colleagues on the national imperative of promoting U.S. exports and thus, creating American jobs. In the face of fierce competition from state-backed Chinese entities, EXIM represents a vital tool of statecraft, particularly in sectors critical to long-term U.S. prosperity and security."

"I congratulate the new members of the EXIM Advisory Committee and the newly established Chairman's Council on China Competition. It is amazing to see how far we have come since fully reopening EXIM in May 2019, and these immensely qualified and diverse individuals will provide valuable insights to EXIM going forward," said EXIM President and Chairman Kimberly A. Reed." As Congress-in our historic 2019 reauthorization-and the 2019-2020 EXIM Advisory Committee-in their statement in the June 2020 Report to the U.S. Congress on Global Competition-underscored, EXIM is a critical tool when it comes to strengthening America's competitiveness with respect to China. I look forward to working with both the Advisory Committee and Chairman's Council to ensure that EXIM is living up to our vision of 'Keeping America Strong: Empowering U.S. Businesses and Workers to Compete Globally.'"

A full list of members of the 2020-2021 EXIM Advisory Committee and Chairman's Council on China Competition can be found below:

2020-2021 EXIM Advisory Committee


The Honorable Stevan Pearce*
Chief Executive Officer/Manager
Trinity Industries, Inc
Former Member
U.S. House of Representatives and New Mexico House of Representatives
Hobbs, NM
Representing: State Government


Maria Cino
Vice President, Corporate Affairs for the Americas
Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Washington, DC
Representing: Production

Bill Cummins*
Executive State Director
Alabama SBDC Network
The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL
Representing: Commerce

Ambassador Paula Dobriansky
Senior Fellow, Harvard University Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs
Vice Chair, Scowcroft Center for Strategy and Security (Atlantic Council)
Washington, DC
Representing: Commerce

Rodney Ferguson
President and Chief Executive Officer
Winrock International
Arlington, VA
Representing: Environment

Lawrence Goodman
President and Founder
Center for Financial Stability
New York, NY
Representing: Finance

Owen Herrnstadt
Chief of Staff, Director of Trade and Globalization
International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
Upper Marlboro, MD
Representing: Labor

Bill Huntington
President, N.A. Wholesale Men's, Kids' & Home
Ralph Lauren Corporation
New York, NY
Representing: Textiles

Sean McGarvey
North America's Building Trade Unions
Washington, DC
Representing: Labor

Scott Palmer*
Palmer Hunter & Hall
Los Angeles, CA
Representing: Services

Rich Powell
Executive Director
Washington, DC
Representing: Environment

T.J. Raguso
Group Executive Vice President, Director of Global Banking
Zions Bancorporation
Houston, TX
Representing: Finance

Alex Sanchez
President and Chief Executive Officer
Florida Bankers Association
Tallahassee, FL
Representing: Finance

Venkee Sharma*
Chief Executive Officer
Aquatech International
Canonsburg, PA
Representing: Production

Christopher Smith*
Executive Director
Parity for Main Street Employers
Washington, DC
Representing: Commerce

Linda Upm